11 Years.

last photo ever taken. 1/20/2003

Picture Taken 1/20/2003

“I thought of you today, but that’s nothing new. I thought about you yesterday and days before that too.
I think of you in silence, I often speak your name. All I have are memories and your picture in a frame. Your memory is a keepsake of which I’ll never part. God has you in his arms, I have you in my heart.”

Today, we celebrate my sister’s life. She was taken from us 11 years ago and although I will never forget and I still remember it like it was yesterday, I have to reflect on these last 11 years with a smile on my face. I think about all that my family has overcome since we lost Sami and how much stronger of a family we are because of it. God is a mysterious man and I’ll never understand why he took such a beautiful being from us so soon, but I have to believe it was because he needed her to serve a bigger purpose. I am confident that I am where I am today because I’ve have Sami on my shoulder and in my heart. She has shaped me into the woman I am today and I am so thankful for that. My mom and I have grown so close and I know that is because of Sami. My mom has overcome more than any one person should deal with in a lifetime and is she is stronger than ever because she has Sami with her every day. I am grateful for the time I got with her. I never knew a 12 year old little girl could teach me so much about life and love. I celebrate her life today because that’s what she would have wanted. She is smiling down from Heaven today and I am smiling back at her.

Sami,
I think about you daily. I often daydream what life would like if you were still here. I pretend that we would be roommates and best friends and still sharing and fighting over clothes. I look at my best friend and her relationship with her sister and think that would be us. I just want you to know how much I love you. I am so lucky to have you as my angel. There are times I get so angry and just want to hear your voice once more, but then the sun shines down on me and I know that you are here. Don’t worry Sami, I am taking care of the family, just as you would have. You’ve made me a better person, better friend and better daughter. You are the best little sister I’ve ever known. Thank you for continuing to be here for me. We will celebrate you today. Love you forever little sister! – Love, Jess

Forever in our hearts and forever in our thoughts.
Sami Rose Scannell 7.14.90-1.27.2003

One thought on “11 Years.

Leave a Reply

