Whole30 Day 4 plus weekend 5k plans

I had a dream last night that today was day 5, but then I couldn’t at my whole30 diary and realized that it was only day 4. Which makes more sense why I woke up feeling like I had drank an entire bottle of wine the night before. I remember this for last time, Day 3 and 4 were the hardest as far as being tired, “hung over”, and cranky. The figuring out what to eat and plan my meals hasn’t been as hard this time around since I’m used to it and it comes more naturally for me than before so that’s made getting through these days a little easier. I know the cravings will get worse before they get better so I’ve made sure to stock up on easy snacks to get through the tough times. I finding that i’m really enjoying apple sauce with a dash of cinnamon and apples with raw almond butter when I’m feeling like a little pick me up. I think the weekend will be a little tough, but I have limited plans am going to focus most of my time on house chores, meal planning and running to keep me busy.

I only have 3 weekends until the seattle half marathon so this saturday i’ll run 11 miles in my training and I also have a 5k race on sunday. I’m excited for the race.. it’s the race I got my PR on last year so I’m hoping to beat it this year. My bf is also going to come watch which is exciting for me since he’s never been to any of my races before.

For my meals this week, I kept it pretty simple. I made a pork roast in my crock pot which has saved me when i’ve been too busy to cook and have been able to bring it for an easy lunch to work. I’ve also been digging this salmon and arugula salad that has snap peas, asparagus, avocado, onion, tomatoes and almonds in and i’ve just been fresh lemon juice and a little hot sauce on it and it’s been delicious! For breakfast I made a batch of pork sausage with onions and apples and just scramble a couple eggs into every morning. Perfect post workout breakfast meal. Larabars and dates have come in handy when i’ve gotten hungry but didn’t have time to make a full meal or just needed a little snack to get through an afternoon. They also make for perfect pre-run food as they don’t give me a side ache.

Just got to stay strong through the weekend and plan my meals ahead for next week and I should be looking good. I’m already noticing the changes and why I love the whole30 and can’t wait to keep seeing and feeling results.

Enjoy your weekend! I’ll give an update on how I did and how my runs go at the end of the weekend.

Leave a Reply

