Track Work Out, Qualifying for Boston?, Core Circuit.

I had my first track work out last night and I definitely felt like the new kid in school. It’s funny what a small world the running community can be. I ended up recognizing a handful of the people from just seeing them at races. We had to alter the workout because there was a soccer game at 6:30 and we needed to be off the track. So we did a 2 x 1 mile splits with a 400m recovery run in between and a 800m recovery run after. My first split I did in 7:20 and my second split I did in 7:01. Since I wasn’t totally sure what we were doing when we started I stayed with a group of ladies for the first split so I could make sure I was doing the right thing. Once I figured it out I did the 2nd one a little faster, only issue is that I didn’t count my laps right on the 2nd mile and I sprinted to the finish just to learn that I still had one more lap to go. I tried to keep the same sprint, but I think I lost it a little. I loved the track work out though and can tell what a difference it’s going to have on my training this year and tackling the NYC Marathon.

I officially registered for the NYC Marathon today. Even though I’ve known I was going to run it since it was cancelled last year, going through the registration put it in perspective and made it seem more real. I was just looking at my training plan for from last year and can’t believe I started training on May 28th! Since I’ve already been running I don’t think I’ll start actually training until after the Rock N Roll half on June 22nd. This year I put a goal time of 3:35:00. Coincident that is the time to qualifying time for 2014 Boston? No! but not sure it’s realistic yet either. It’s definitely a fun goal to try for though.

Normally I run on Thursdays, but after yesterday’s morning strength training and the track work out last night I decided to keep it light today and my body was thankful. I focused on my core today and made sure to sneak in the 100 squats for day 9 of the 30 day squat challenge.

Core & Squat Circuit

Core & Squat Circuit

Core & Squat Circuit
4 sets of 25 each
1. 50lb barbell squat
2a. Right Side Oblique Crunch, holding 15lb dumbbell
2b. Left Side Oblique Crunch, holding 15lb dumbbell
3. Back Extensions, holding 25lb plate
4. 1 min plank, balancing on each leg for 15 sec each during the min and then hold for 30

TGTIF (thank goodness tomorrow is friday) 🙂

Leave a Reply

