Paleo Burgers, Running and Leg Circuit work out!

The weather here just keeps on improving and by the end of the week it’s supposed to be in the 80s.. what SEATTE?!

Sunny weather makes me only want to use my BBQ! and even though it’s still isn’t hot out, I would much rather take advantage of the sunny evenings then be stuck in the kitchen.

Last nights dinner was inspired by paleoOMG, I absolutely love her site and reference it daily.

BRING ON… PALEO Chile-Cilantro Burgers with Grilled Pineapple, Red Bell Peppers, Onions, and Avocado Cream with Charred Broccoli and Grilled Chile-Lime Sweet Potato Wedges!

My Ingredients: Organic Beef, Garlic, Cilantro, Pineapple(yes i was too lazy to cut my own), Avocado, Lime, Bell Pepper, Sweet Potato - Not shown: chile powder, salt, pepper, onion powder, garlic powder, olive oil, sriracha, cinnamon, cumin

My Ingredients: Organic Beef, Garlic, Cilantro, Pineapple(yes i was too lazy to cut my own), Avocado, Lime, Bell Pepper, Sweet Potato – Not shown: chile powder, salt, pepper, onion powder, garlic powder, olive oil, sriracha, cinnamon, cumin

The finished product, so delicious and so paleo!

The finished product, so delicious and so paleo!

To get my 75 squats done yesterday I decided to break them up and do them in a circuit with other exercises.

25, 20, 15, 10, 5 – leg press (adding weight each round)
15, 15, 15, 15, 15 – assisted barbell squats with 90lbs (75 total!)
10, 10, 10, 10, 10 – barbell deadlifts

I also did a 2nd circuit for calves and abs
50, 40, 30, 20,10 seated incline calf raises, increasing weight each round
25, 25, 25, 25, 25 incline reverse crunches for the first 3 rounds and hanging vertical crunches for the last 2 rounds
and then finished with 5 sets of 15 alternating abductor/adductor machine

Was a quick but deadly 45 min work out and my hips and hamstrings are the most sore.

This morning was a run day so I started with a warm up of 80 squats broken up into 20 different types of squats (narrow, wide, barbell, seated) and then 3 sets of 15 of the abductor/adductor machine and then 4.5 mile run outside with negative splits. Started around 8:50 for the first 2.5 miles and then increased my speed to 7:50 for the last 1.5 miles.

Tomorrow is a busy day. I have my trainer in the morning for strength and then going to a wednesday night track workout (5 x 1000meters alternating between slow and fast) with a 600m recovery jog. I’m hoping to not miss my thursday work out but depending on how sore/tired I am I might just focus on core and stretching on Thursday.

Tonight for dinner my girlfriends and I put together a huge salad bar and mixed our own salads. I forgot how fun it can be to make your own salad. Definitely a good way to turn a borning/healthy salad for dinner into an exciting meal. My salad was a mix of arugula, spinach, chicken, toasted almonds, goat cheese, avocado, boiled egg, roasted red peppers and dried cherries drizzled with garlic oil and balsamic vinegar. So good and still so full! Wish I would have remembered to take pictures.. it was a pretty good set up for a make at home salad bar!

just run

Leave a comment