Napa Valley

I’m on my way home from a successful trip to Napa Valley. The half marathon went well overall, but there were moments that I know if I had trained better it would have felt better. The first 5 miles, my body thought I was going too fast and I struggled with shin plints and controlling my breathing. I kept up the pace though through mile 9 and from mile 5 to 9 I was able to control my breathing and forget about the shin plints. At mile 9 though I took a turn for the worse. I noticed I was feeling lathargic and my arms were feeling very heavy and I could feel my blood pulsing in my hands and realized I was almost going to pass out. So I slowed my pace way down and focused on getting through the heat and really listening to what my body was telling me. At the next water station I drank some water and walked for a few seconds and was able to reset to finish the last 4 miles.

I finished 1:50:00 and was at a 7:53 pace for the first 9 miles and then had to slow down to about a 8:45 pace. For my next half marathon in June I would like to train to accomplish a current 7:50 pace for the whole race. I think I know what I need to do to accomplish that. I’m excited for this race season and too see what pace I’ll be at for the NYC Marathon this fall.

Besides the marathon my time in Napa was spent with a co worker doing research and development for our company. Here is a list of the places we went and enjoyed:

  • Bounty Hunter BBQ & Wine Bar
  • Ad Hoc
  • Bouchon Bakery
  • Bouchon Bistro
  • V. Sattuio Winery
  • Oakville Grocery
  • Dean & Deluca

I ate a lot of food that my stomach doesn’t agree with or is not something on my diet, but I got through it alright, can definitely feel the affects of the food now. As much as I love bread, dairy, grains and sugar – my body sure does not and is craving a clean paleo diet right now. That will be my focus this week and without getting on a scale, I can tell I have some toning to do which will probably result in losing a few extra lbs I put on this weekend.

I’m excited to get back in the gym and figure out my training plan for my next half marathon that is 9 weeks away!

Happy Monday!!

p.s. i’ll post photos soon of napa, just can’t do it from the airplane. 

One thought on “Napa Valley

Leave a Reply

