Phase 2! Progress Report

Valentine's Day Dash 5k

Valentine’s Day Dash 5k

To kick off phase 2 I ran the Valentine’s day Dash 5k with a good friend of mine. We had a great time and barely realized we had ran 3 miles because we were just enjoying good conversation the whole run. Running is such good therapy, especially when you a good friend to enjoy it with.

I’m excited to say that I’ve made it to phase 2 of Jamie Eason’s LiveFit program. Phase 2 begins 5 weeks into the program and I’m also happy to report that through the 5 weeks I’ve only skipped one day for when I got sick and had no choice but have 3 days of rest. I’ve been enjoying all of the workouts and have felt more and more comfortable in the weight room and pushing myself by adding more weights.

I have also stayed 95% paleo this last 4 weeks and I feel great. I’ve been able to get up on time for my workouts and continue to have energy throughout the day. My body loves protein and vegetables and it’s pretty much at this point what I crave and want. I’m still am battling with my addiction to sugar but it’s been getting better and I’ve been fixing my cravings with healthier treats and it seems to be working.

I’ve weighed myself a few times since I started this program and have stayed the exact same weight the whole time, but yesterday I decided to go shopping and ended up trying on some new jeans and was happily surprised that I have dropped a pant size! I think that is always the true test of weight loss.. Doesn’t matter what the scale says, it matters how you look in your favorite jeans. Mine happen to be these bright orange jeans I bought this weekend.

I’m very excited for phase 2 as I get to add cardio to my routines. Which is perfect timing since it’s time I start phasing running back into my normal routine and get ready for my first half marathon of the year.

Tomorrow is back and cardio day. The program calls for 30 mins on the elliptical, but since I find that quite boring and don’t care for the elliptical I’m going to change it up some. Here is what tomorrow’s workout looks like:

3 sets of 10:
wide grip overhead pullups
seated cable rows
wide grip lat pulldowns
bent over lat pulldowns
one-arm dumbbell row
hammer strength lat pulldown
back extensions
cardio set: 10 min stair stepper, 10 min row, 1 mile run

After my workout I’m headed to Mt. Bachelor for 2 days of skiing so I’ll be missing 2 days of workouts this week, but will get plenty of cardio on the mountain and will probably add a couple at home circuits to my mornings.

I’m excited to share my progress and I’m a true believer that if you focus on eating cleaning and maintain a good workout routine you will be fitter, healthier and happier.

Leave a Reply

