Come with me on my fitness journey

motivation wednesday

 

The above image I thought was perfect today since I can hardly walk, laughing hurts my abs and my arms hurt just typing this message. It sure does feel good to be sore from a work out though. I can’t remember the last time my body was sore from a work out at the gym. I’ve had a few runs that I’m really sore from, especially the marathon, but not from just a good work out at the gym. Taking a week break was worth it, exactly what I needed to get over the plateau I was in.

On Wednesday mornings, I am going to meet with a trainer. If you can find the right kind of trainer for what your looking for and affordably, I highly recommend one, even if it’s just for one day a week. I decided to get one after realizing I needed one day a week where I really got pushed to my limits and pushing yourself to your limits on your own is hard to do. Since I’m still pretty new in the weight room there is a lot of things I don’t know and wouldn’t know what or how to do on my own. That is what Wednesday’s are for. I thought it would be kind fun to share my wednesday work outs with you for two reasons; 1: gives me an outlet to write them down and remember them for the future, 2: hope to motivate, inspire and push you to your limits if your looking for a little extra from your workout. I’ll break down the circuits I do each week, but as far as weight goes, that’s what I got the trainer for cause I’ve never understood what weight level I should be at. So hopefully you know what’s best for your body or you can play around when trying these circuits.

CHEST AND BACK CIRCUIT

  • reps: 20, 16, 12, 8, 4
  • increasing weight each new set
  • 4 machines alternating between pull and push
  • pull: seated row, push: seated chess press, pull: seated lower row, push: incline bench press
  • Explanation: I started with 20 reps and did all four machines at 20 reps and then in between each new set I did abs and then increased the weight and started again with 16 and so on. By the time I got to 4 the weight was super heavy, heavy enough that I couldn’t do more than 4.

ABS – (in between chest and back circuit)

  • reps: 50 in between each chest and back set for a total of 250
  • vertical ab knee raises, v-ups, straight leg vertical crunch, incline bench sit ups, incline bench reverse crunches
  • Explanation: I did 5 different ab work outs, 1 after each chest and back circuit. I did the 5 listed above, 50 each.

BICS/TRICS/SHOULDERS CIRCUIT

  • reps: 20, 15, 10, 5
  • increasing weight after each set
  • bar bicep curls, shoulder press, tricep pressdown
  • Explanation: I started with 20 reps and did all three muscle groups and in between each new set I did leg presses and increased the weight so by the time I got to 5, I couldn’t do more than 5

LEG PRESS – (in between bics/trics,shoulder circuit)

  • reps: 25, 50, 75, 100
  • same weight, less by the end
  • explanation: I increased the reps after each set and did each set in between the bic/tric/shoulder circuit

As I get more comfortable with what I’m doing I won’t give all the details, just the exercise and how many reps, but for now incase I want to do this work out again I want to make sure I’ll remember it.

Hope you find it useful. I’m sore just reliving it with you guys. To recover today, I’m planning on drinking lots of water and making sure I have plenty of protein.

Tomorrow is a cardio day. Running if my legs can handle it, swimming if they are too sore.

 

Leave a Reply

