December Hard and Soft Limits

December

Happy December 1st everyone! I love winter for so many reasons… Scarves, boots, snow, skiing, hot apple cider, holiday parties, giving gifts, receiving gifts, food, holiday treats.

Since the marathon is behind me and I don’t want to let me myself get too far off track celebrating this holiday season so I decided I’m going to create some boundaries for myself. This year I’ve done Juice Cleanses, Vegetarian/Vegan Diets, Paleo, Protein/Carb Diets and I think I’ve finally learned what my body needs to be healthy and to stay fit. Excuse the “fifty shades” example, but I just love the idea of a contract with hard and soft limits so that is what I’m going to do for myself for the month of December. I’m going to start this tomorrow and go until the 21st of December. The evening of the 21st starts my “christmas vacation” with louis CK tickets with friends and then I’m off work and doing fun holiday things until the 31st so I’ll give myself a 10 day break to enjoy the holidays without feeling guilty before starting on the new years with new resolutions and plans.

wallpaper38_1024 copy

 

 

 

 

 

 

HARD LIMITS (absolutely no)
gluten
dairy
sugar
beer or brown liquor
white potatoes
beans
soy products
peanuts/peanut products
processed foods/Juice

SOFT LIMITS (limited)
fruit
grains such as quinoa, brown rice, lentils
almond butter
corn products
red wine, clear liquor
almond milk/rice milk
protein smoothie/fresh juice in place of meal only at breakfast or lunch
dark chocolate

MUST INCLUDE IN DAILY DIET
protein
vegetables
eggs
sweet potatoes
coconut/olive oils
avocado
tea
water

Of course, Along with this diet I will have an exercise plan. I’m still working this out, but my plan as of right now is to work out 6 days a week, including 2 days of hot yoga, 3 days of cardio and 5 days of strength training. How I will split this up or what i’ll do for cardio/strength training I have yet to decide. But after I get a solid week or 2 down of the same routine I’ll let you know what I’m doing.

I’m off to spend my last night without hard or soft limits with my boyfriend. We are going out to dinner and to the movies. And not that I plan on going overboard with pastas, desserts and popcorn, but I do plan on enjoying one last meal guilt-free, prepared however it’s prepared and enjoying every bite.

Anyone up for the challenge? I’d love to have some people to do these 20 days with! And it’s the perfect way to stay in healthy and fit during a month full of temptations, plus I’m giving you 10 full days to not fill guilty about what you eat if you can accomplish the first 20.

2 thoughts on “December Hard and Soft Limits

  1. Pingback: Day One! Xmas Challenge. | Nohe'a Ola

Leave a Reply

