I’m back from the biggest city ever.

I’ve been back for almost a week from the biggest city I’ve ever seen. I have been trying to get my life back on track, find my balance between exercise and eating healthy. I started this blog as an outlet to talk about my training for the biggest marathon in our country only to find out the day I was leaving that it had been cancelled. Of course, I felt for the victims of Hurricane Sandy and wanted to do anything I could do to help, including a few of my personal friends who lost everything, but I also couldn’t shake the feeling of how disappointed, shattered I felt that the marathon I had worked so hard for, been so disciplined, started this blog about had been cancelled so close to the end. My bags were packed and since I was still in shock from the news, I just went into auto-pilot and kept going about my travels as if nothing had happened. When I got to NYC the emotions finally set in. I was sleep deprived and overwhelmed by such a beautiful city and finally let go. As we walked the city for hours waiting to be able to check into our hotel, the amount of runners from all over the world taking on the city was unbelievable. I think “surreal” was the word I kept using. I realized that the only thing I wanted to be doing that day was running. Once we were able to check into our hotel it’s exactly what I did. I was able to convince a few others to join me and we set out from our hotel to conquer central park. The feeling being on the streets of NYC was unlike anything I’ve ever felt before and I was assuming it’s how I would have felt on marathon day.  I ended up running around 12 miles, my phone died so wasn’t able to track the miles, but they were the best miles I’ve ever run. I so badly wanted to run on marathon sunday and join the other thousands of runners who decided to run and help out sandy victims. I unfortunately was up for a good 48 hours before I went to sleep on Saturday night and only slept for about 5 hours before I was up again on Sunday and I just couldn’t get myself to do it. I avoided central park at all cost that day as I know how hard it would have been for me to see all the runners and not be there. I ran again on Monday and realized that I love it. Not just that I was doing the NYC marathon, but running in general. It eases my mind, a personal therapy I’ve always needed and never knew existed before this year.

(A picture of the finish line, 2 days before the cancelled race)

As most know, I really got serious with this training. Stop drinking, ate strictly vegetarian for a while and then switched to paleo, put a hold on my social life, ran my ass off in all sorts of weather conditions, took on strength training and hot yoga. Dealt with many pains and injuries as a runner. And all of this was so I could run the marathon and reward myself of all my hard work with a 10 day trip to the biggest and best city in our country. Since there was no marathon, I was struggling with this. It didn’t feel right to enjoy the city without the reward. While all my co-workers were thoroughly enjoying all the foods and drinks the city as to offer I was feeling guilty, that I haven’t earned it yet. It took me a few days and lots of motivation from my fellow co-workers to show me that it was absolutely okay for me to still enjoy NYC and that I still earned the trip.

By Wednesday, I was thoroughly enjoying my trip with these wonderful ladies at my side. We went to many museums, stood on top of the empire state building and rockefeller center at sunset, took a ferry to ellis island and the statue of liberty, visited ground zero and the 9/11 memorial, walked for miles, ate delicious food and shopped! It turned out to be a really great trip, one I won’t forget and now I’m even more excited as an “experienced” new yorker to take on the NYC Marathon next year! 🙂

I changed my flight to come home early as I was just so overwhelmed and ready to come back and start my training again. I signed up for the Seattle Marathon next weekend on Nov. 25th. Now that I’ve been back a week, I’m not sure signing up for the marathon was a great idea. I have mentally checked out of running, had already planned on taking some time off running after NY to enjoy weight training, swimming and holiday parties. It’s still dark when I leave for work and dark by the time I head home so running has been the last thing I’ve wanted to do. I’ve ran only 4 miles since I’ve been back and spent 2 days at the gym. Tomorrow I’ll run 10 miles and try and get another 8-10 in through the week next week. The Seattle Marathon is hilly and cold, I have only a goal of finishing. I will not worry about the time. I do not want to injure myself and I’m considering this marathon more as an astrics to put all my hard work to bed and get me ready for the NYC marathon next year. I never thought I’d do a marathon, now I’ll be doing 2.

As I took the bus into work this morning, I realized through my excitement of just wanting to be home, I missed my dog and my boyfriend so much that nothing seemed better than coming home come last sunday, but now after being settled for a week. I miss the quickness of new york. I miss all the cabbies. I miss the good food and walking. I miss central park. It’s an overwhelming city, but one I think I could get used to if given the opportunity.

I’ll leave you with a few pictures of my trip as I go about finishing my Friday. I’m sorry for the longer post, but I’ve missed writing and talking to you all.

NY BAGEL SANDWICHRoy LichtensteinNaked Cowboys

2 thoughts on “I’m back from the biggest city ever.

  1. & now you’re a BIG CITY gal !!! Wonderful ! I’ve enjoyed your trip & Good Luck in your next venture (marathon) on the 25th…..Love you, Gramma Linda

Leave a Reply

