New York.. Ready or Not, Here I come..

 

It’s been an extremely emotional day trying to decide whether to run in the NYC marathon or defer to next year. After A LOT of tears, I realized how heart broken I would be if I didn’t go. I read a lot of negative comments about the fact that the marathon is still happening and I had to agree with a lot of them which is what made the decision so hard, but ultimately I decided to go. If the mayor isn’t going to cancel it then I want to be there with the other runners supporting the city in the best way we can.

Training for this marathon has been no easy feat. Many of you that have either know me or have been following my journey know that it’s taken a lot of hard work and dedication to get where I am today. Over the last year I have put my body through hell, dealt with some nasty injuries, have over $1000 in medical bills and changed my diet twice all leading up to this sunday. I know when I cross that finish line, it will have all been worth it. I’ve learned so much about myself through this journey, I have become a better person, figured out who I am and what makes me happy and most importantly learned how happy I am to be a healthy person with such a strong passion for fitness.

As I’m torn and feel guilty for going to NYC and participating in this marathon during these hard times, I hope NYRR does find a way to make this marathon not a hassel on the city and uses the funds raised to support the victims of hurricane Sandy. I know this marathon is bad timing, but I’m ready for my hard work to pay off and to visit a city i’ve never been to and always dreamed about.

Thank you to all my friends, family and fellow bloggers who have followed my journey thus far, I’m excited it’s finally come down to the final days and I couldn’t have done it without your support.

2 thoughts on “New York.. Ready or Not, Here I come..

Leave a Reply

