a little training update

I haven’t been able to blog for a few days as I have just been so busy and so tired.

On Saturday, I ran my longest run so far in my training, a total of 22 miles! I was supposed to do 20, but my phone died and I ended up running a little extra. The run was great, I stay hydrated with water and nuun tablets. If you haven’t tried nuun yet they are perfect for hydration on a long run if your body doesn’t handle Gatorade. I personally like them because there is no sugar added and Gatorade seems to always give me a headache and make me nauseous. I ate 3 dates towards the last 6 miles and was exactly what I needed to get me through. It’s nice having a better idea of what I’ll need come race day. The only thing I’m nervous about is the mental challenge of the last 6 miles. Once I knew I was close to being done, I zoned in on how bad my body hurt, from my toes to my legs to my core, to my back. It seemed like every part of my body hurt and I just wanted to quit. I’m hoping the energy of the crowd at the marathon will help get me through those last few miles.

After the 20 miler, I had decided I really needed to focus on strengthening my core this week as that was my weakest element during the long run. Monday, I focused on strength training. Tuesday, I did cxworks class, Wednesday, a 4 mile run for speed, Thursday, I did cxworks class again and then stayed for the new les mils grit work out. I was going to go for a run after cx, but so happy I chose to stay for grit. I never done it before and I’m here to say I highly recommend!

If your gym offers any les mils classes, I highly recommend giving them try. I’ve been doing bodypump for about a year and it’s great a great full body workout. I started doing cxworks about 6 months ago when they started offering it at my gym. it’s a 30 min core work out, which not only gives you the abs you want, but it really helps with posture, mobility and strength. Today was my first time ever doing grits, which is a 30 min high intensity work out. At my gym it’s an up charge, but it’s so worth it. I worked my cardio harder in that 30 mins than I would have in a 6 mile run. For those of you participating in the 30 mins of fitness a day, the cxworks class or the grits class would be an awesome way to get your 30 mins of fitness in. I’m going to do it again tomorrow, I think the high intensity training is the perfect missing link to what I needed for my marathon training. Between this class and the cxworks, my long runs should be a lot stronger. I’m running a half marathon on Saturday for my training run and I plan to do it for time. Hopefully these classes will help improve my time.

Sorry for the rambling of all my fitness, I’m just so passionate about exercise and as I get closer to the marathon I’m learning the type of training I’m needing and hoping by sharing it’ll help you as well.

All this fitness talk, makes me hungry. Here’s a recipe of the short ribs I made:

Tomato-Balsamic Glazed Short Ribs (Slowcooker)
2-3lbs short rib
4 smashed garlic cloves
1 can tomato sauce
4 Dates
1/2 cup balsamic vingar
season and brown the meat and put all ingredients in slow cooker for 6 hours on low. I ate them with cauliflower mashed potatoes and sautéed carrots and celery.
a note about the seasoning: could just do salt and pepper, I decided to make my own spice blend with salt, pepper, cinnamon, sage, rosemary and paprika

Leave a Reply

