day 24, 30 day challenge and recipes!

From my last STAY CALM post, I think I did pretty well. I had fun with my dad on Friday night with dinner and the theatre, but I was shocked as someone who loves to eat out (normally) how uncomfortable I was not knowing for sure how they cooked my food. They assured me it was whole30 approved, but I’ve noticed through this process how much I like cooking my own food and knowing exactly what’s going in it.

Saturday’s long run was hard. I ended up doing 16 miles. Mile 14-16 was the hardest 2 miles so far. Everything hurt, from my core to my feet. I think a quarter of that is mental since I knew I was almost done and I wanted to be done so badly! I shopped at whole foods after my run, first time shopping at whole foods, what a treat! I probably spent over an hour there just looking for fun stuff I could have. I bought all my organic grass fed meats and organic veggies plus a few other things I’ve had a hard time finding at regular stores. I put a salad together to bring to the gorge along with some roasted turkey breast. Side note: JASON MRAZ IS BEAUTIFUL AND I LOVE HIM.

Sunday’s baby shower went well, I made sure I ate before I went and my friend that was hosting the party had called me the night before asking what I could have and made sure she had a few things whole30 approved which I thought was so sweet of her.

I made a roast and a quiche on Sunday that has been my meals for breakfast and lunch all week. Such a good idea to meal plan ahead like that. Has made my week days really easy and nice to only thing about what I’m going to make for dinner.

I decided to join Kate’s 30 day fitness challenge. Which I pretty much have already been doing, but on my rest days I’m going to do active recovery for 30 mins instead of doing nothing. I’m going to officially start on 10/4 the day my whole30 is done and not coincidentally it will end the day of the marathon. My week so far has consisted of hot yoga, strength training for my legs, and two 6 miles runs. I need to get another 4 miles in this week before my long run on Saturday. I’m hoping to do that tonight and then upper body strength training tomorrow.

I have to share my recipes for both the roast and the quiche because they were just too good not to share.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The roast is super simple.

INGREDIENTS:
Beef Roast
6 Carrots
4 Celery
1 Onion
2 Sweet potato
1 Canned Fire Roasted Tomatoes
1 Canned Stewed Tomatoes
1 cup, maybe a little more Chicken Broth
2 Tbsp Coconut oil

Season meat with salt and pepper and brown in cast iron skillet with 2 tablespoons coconut oil.
Chop all veggies into chunks and throw all ingredients in slow cooker. Set to high for 8 hours and done!

Sweet and Savory Quiche.I made my own version of Kate’s quiche, taking advice from her and it starts with food.

1 tbsp coconut oil
1lb ground sausage
1 green pepper, diced
1 bunch asparagus, chopped
1/2 onion, diced
Handful of mushrooms, chopped
2 large handfuls of spinach chopped
1 large heirloom tomato, chopped
Bunch green onions, diced
9 eggs
Cinnamon
Unsweetned cocoa powder
Chile powder
Cayenne pepper
Salt & Pepper

Ground the sausage with the coconut oil and add the onion, green pepper, mushrooms and asparagus, sauté for a few mins until all mixed together and slightly cooked.
Mix eggs with all spices, I didn’t measure but I used more cinnamon, chile pepper and salt and just a dash of the other ingredients. Once whisked add the ground sausage and veggies to the eggs.
Grease 9×13 pan with coconut oil and add egg mixture, sprinkle on top spinach, tomatoes and green onion. Did not mix together.
Bake at 375 for 45 mins

Both of those items were perfect portions for breakfast and lunch Sunday through Friday. My dinners this week have looked like this..
Monday: Balsamic Glazed Chicken Breast with Spinach, Sundried Tomatoes, Artichoke and Mushrooms
Tuesday: Lemon-Herb Butter Baked Chicken Thighs with Roasted tomatoes, asparagus, broccoli and onion
Wednesday: Leftovers from Monday Night

6 more days of whole30
40 more days until the NYC marathon

Enjoy your Thursday!

One thought on “day 24, 30 day challenge and recipes!

Leave a Reply

