day 13. food. running. family. football.

Ever since I started this whole30 challenge. I’ve been eating every meal from home. Even finding myself, bringing in leftovers to work instead of eating free restaurant food. Last Friday I figured out a list of food I wanted to make for the week, put together a detailed shopping list and spent an hour at the grocery store, not forgetting anything. My groceries lasted exactly too Friday again. Something I’m very proud of! Usually I’m so spontaneous that I could have a ton of food in the fridge and want none of it so I became a go to the grocery store every day to pick up what I felt like for dinner that night type of girl. It’s nice to have a routine and have groceries last and not go bad. So on Friday I created another list of meals I wanted to make for the week and headed to the grocery store. I’ll admit though I got everything on the list, I also bought a few extra things and I think this food will last into next week. (hopefully!)

Meals planned for the week:
today, Football sunday:
breakfast: eggs and bacon for the boy, eggs, veggies and sweet potatoes for me
lunch: leftover “spaghetti” (recipe below)
dinner: best chicken ever with broccoli, zucchini and sundried tomatoes
Lettuce wrapped tacos, pot roast, Marinated Flank, NY Steak & eggs

Hopefully, I’ll remember to take photos and share recipes with you this week 🙂

Here is a little recap from my weekend so far:

Friday morning was spent doing strength training, really starting to get a groove in the weight room and it feels good. Afterwork I did my weekly grocery shopping and then made homemade spaghetti sauce served with spaghetti squash. My best friend came over for another Dawson’s creek marathon and we ate dinner and finally got through more than 2 episodes in one night!
Saturday was my long run and a family reunion. I was really dreading my long run. My short runs have just become part of my weekly workout routine so it’s been easy, but for some reason getting up and knowing you have to run for a few hours is hard to do. I’d much rather spend the time in the gym or doing hot yoga. I forced myself to do 10 miles though and finally around mile 5 I felt good and was able to pull through it. Next weekend is 18 miles and I have to find tricks all week that will get me mentally ready for that. Hopefully going to find a running partner too. After my run, I went to a family reunion for my dad’s side. It amazed me how many people I didn’t know or recognize because I haven’t seen them in years. I brought my left over “spaghetti” and it got a lot of raves. I spend Saturday night watching “snow white and the huntsmen” with my boyfriend. It was a nice relaxing evening and think I was a sleep before 11. 🙂
It’s sunday now and my plan after posting this is running to the store so my boy can drink coffee when he wakes up, then make breakfast, brine my chicken for dinner, go to church with my best friend, watch hours of football with my guy, eat chicken and hopefully between all of that get my laundry done.

I’ve been truly enjoying September, the whole30, cooking, figuring out my workout routine for the fall and getting closer in my marathon training. I couldn’t ask for a better boyfriend or better friends. I’m so blessed and so excited for the weeks and months to come.

my version of spaghetti (only remember to take a photo of all the ingredients, not the final product, but trust it was delicious)

 

 

For Sauce:
1lb ground beef
1 yellow onion, diced
3 garlic cloves, minced
1 half large carrot, chopped
1 celery stalk, chopped
1 zucchini, diced
1 green and yellow pepper, diced
1 bunch mushrooms
1 bunch fresh basil, parlsey, oregano
1 28oz canned diced tomatoes
2 tablespoons tomato paste
S&P to taste
2 tablespoons olive oil

For Squash:
1 large spaghetti squash
1 tablespoon olive oil
S&P to taste

To Cook Squash (i did it a day ahead of time)
1. preheat over to 375
2. cut squash lengthwise
3. scoop out seeds and debris from instead
4. drizzle with olive oil and s&p
5. place face down on baking dish and bake for 30 mins
6. flip squash side up and bake for addition 10-15 mins (shell should start to soften)
7. let cook and then use for fork to scrape, full all spaghetti squash out.

To make sauce:
1. heat large skillet or pan to medium-high heat and add olive oil
2. mix together onions, carrots, celery and 1 pinch herbs, reduce heat to low, cover and cook for 15 mins, stirring occasionally
3. Turn back to medium, add garlic and stir for about 30 seconds
4. Add the rest of the veggies and stir occasionaly for about 6-8 mins, until veggies have started to soften
5. add tomatoes, tomato paste, rest of herbs and s&p, stir, cover and reduce heat to low for 15 mins

enjoy of spaghetti squash and spinach. *note do not put hot sauce directly on spaghetti squash or it will get mushy.

Leave a Reply

