Food For Thought… DAY 7

This weekend was full some ups and some downs. Ups – lots of cooking, downs – missing my long run. It feels so good to be back in my kitchen whipping up some fun things. I want to share all my recipes with you, and I will but to start, here is just a small list of some of the things I made this weekend.

Friday: Sauteed Chicken and Pineapple with Sweet Potato and Broccolini
Saturday: Grilled Pork Chops and Sherry glazed Mushrooms with Butternut Squash and Spinach
Sunday: Pumpkin Chili with Avocado Cream for football Sunday and for dinner Grilled Salmon with Cilantro Pesto and Blueberry and Tomato Salad
Monday: Scrambled Eggs with Cilantro Pesto and Spinach, Sweet Potato Hummus, Grilled New York and Sherry glazed Mushrooms with grilled Veggies and Broccoli

For Day 7 I filled out this Food for Thought worksheet:
I find myself craving sugar, bread or sweets when: I’m hungry
Sometimes, I think I’m hungry, but I’m actually: thirsty or having a craving
When I’m craving sugar, I used to eat: ice cream
During my whole30, I’m going to reach for: nuts, berries, pineapples, dates instead
When I eat sweet food like fruit, I notice: my cravings go away
When I eat salty foods like nuts or olives, I notice: I want something savory
I though I’d miss eating: soy/tofu but actually I don’t miss it at all
I didn’t think I’d like eating: meat, sweet potato, eggs but I’m actually really enjoying them
I have the hardest time sticking to the whole30 when I’m feeling: hungry
I have the hardest time sticking to the whole 30 when Im at: work
When I eat a good breakfast, I feel: great and have lots of energy
When I prepare a healthy meal from scratch, I feel: so happy
Since I started my whole30, I’ve noticed:
that my exercise: is stronger
that my sleep: is getting longer and better
that my energy levels: goes up and down
that my emotions: go up and down
that my recovery after exercise: is quicker
that my body feels: less bloated
that my clothes feel: looser

The best thing about the whole30 so far is being able to wake up early ready for the day. I woke up at 5 this morning, went straight to the gym and did the 6am bodypump class and after the class I went outside and ran 6 miles to begin my training for week 16. Only 7 more weeks to go until the NYC Marathon. Holy Moly that is going to sneak up on me.

Leave a Reply

