running through pain

I stole this image from Get fit with Abby who I just recently started following. She is training for a marathon too and I always like finding others who are going through the same things I’m going through.

I needed this motivation this morning and I think I need to start printing off some running quotes and putting them around my house to help me when I struggle in the mornings to get out of bed and put on my running shoes. I wanted to be out the door by 6am, but couldn’t get motivated until 7am.

I started the run feeling overwhelmed that I was going to be late again and not have enough time do my normal morning routine, but then something worse happened. I noticed about 1.5 miles into the run the inside of my foot was really hurting, I kept pushing through it and and when my runkeeper said 2 miles I decided to stop and stretch and see if I couldn’t make it feel better. It only got worse as I was standing there and I had to make the tough decision to power through or turn around. I jogged for a few more steps and noticed I was really favoring the outside part of foot and I’ve learned when your favoring something it can only cause worse injuries for other parts of your body that are compensating so I turned around and called it quits. I’ve never done this before and it was very discouraging. The whole 2 mile walk back to my house I was devastated and angry. I only have 1 more day to run before two very important races this weekend and the last thing I need is to be injured.

I brought my tennis ball to work to roll it out and plan on massaging it and icing later tonight. I can only pray it will feel good enough to do my run tomorrow and my races this weekend.

Any advice out there? Do you power through pain or know when enough is enough?

One thought on “running through pain

  1. I never believed in the saying ‘no pain, no gain’….Best to find out what’s making your foot hurt before it gets worse…..Luv you & good luck !

Leave a Reply

