Triple Berry Green Juice Smoothie + a little reggae

It’s hot here in the pacific northwest and i’m enjoying it! I love waking up and being able to put on a tank top and shorts and going for a run instead of wearing my only pair of long running pants and long sleeve zip up every day. I took last weekend off running and was a bad girl… i paid for it thats for sure. It feels good to run, not be hungover, I need to remember that when I decide to stay out late on a Friday night. I’m back on track this week though, I’ve ran 15 miles so far with 2 days of weight training. 15 more this weekend for a total of 30 miles this week, plus one more day of weight training and yoga!

With all the running and weight training my normal green juice just wasn’t cutting it, needed more protein to help with the recovery. Plus on these hot days all I want to do is drink smoothies! I created a smoothie I’m calling Triple Berry Green Juice Smoothie and it’s fantastic. I’ve made it every day this week. I recommend to all my foodie/fit bloggers to try it!

Triple Berry Green Juice Smoothie
FOR GREEN JUICE:
2 bunch kale
2 large broccoli stalks
1 large cucumber
2 green apples
1 half lemon
1 head cabbage
2 small tri-color carrots
(any combination on greens/veggies will work, I just throw whatever came from full circle in there)
FOR SMOOTHIE:
1 cup triple frozen berries
1 frozen banana
1 scoop (tablespoon) vanilla protein powder (i use rainbow light, only one i found that is vegan and gluten free)
1 scoop (tablespoon) PB2 Powder (could use peanut butter too, but I think this stuff is way tastier and it’s much better for you)
enough green juice to make it thin enough to drink (i don’t measure, just add some and if it’s too thick add a little more)

1. combine all produce into juicer, this can be done ahead of time which is what i did, enough to last for 2-3 days of juice.
2. add frozen fruit, protein, powder, pb2 and green juice to blender
3. blend until desired thickness and enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

