its officially summer in seattle

Just by writing that title I feel like I’ve jinxed it! But look at all that sunshine over the next week.. and according to the trusty weatherman, there is no end to it in the near future!

I’m not sure how I feel about the 4th of july being on a wednesday this year.. It’s really messed up my schedule, but on the bright side it is thursday today and only 2 more days until the weekend. Yesterday felt like Saturday for me so i’m not exactly excited to be back to work today. I want it to be Sunday and I’d be at church hanging out with the babies and my best friend in the nursey.. oh well only a couple more days right!?

The classes at the gym yesterday were on saturday’s schedule so it was nice I got to start my day a little later than usual. I did body pump at 8:30, followed by a 5 mile run outside in the sunshine with my dog. The last couple miles were really rough because I didn’t realize there was a parade happening right on my running route and Hanky was having a hard time staying focused with all the dogs and kids running around.

I really wanted to make that broccoli salad, I talked about earlier this week from flying apron so when I got home from the run I made it. I forgot to take pictures of the process, but i’ll still share the recipe. Of course it’s not as good as the one I had the other day, but still pretty delicious. I’m not sure what they did for the dressing and mine wasn’t nearly as flavorful, next time I’m going to make my own tahini and make sure it has a lot of flavor.

I sat outside for a few hours and snacked on watermelon and then I took the broccoli salad and went a friend’s for a barbecue and fireworks. It was a very nice evening, but since I was acting like it was saturday, I played too hard and am really tired today.

The sun is helping me stay motivated today and hopefully I get some energy later so I can do my scheduled 4 mile run after work. I don’t like to get off track, but I think the 4th of July is a good excuse to get a little of track.

I’ll leave you with a little quote I found the other day, in case your needing the same kind of motivation i’m needing today!

 

 

 

 

 

Cashew Broccoli Salad
( i didn’t measure anything, but you can use your best judgement on how much you’d want to make. i also bought packaged and already shredded veggies, normally I wouldn’t but this saved a lot of time)
1 bag of shredded broccoli, cabbage and carrots
1 bag of shredded carrots
3 large broccoli – cut into small broccoli florets, steamed for 2 mins
1 can roasted cashew halves
1 bag of raisins
1 thinly sliced red onion – soaked in water
tahini sauce

Mix all together, season with salt and pepper and chill for a few hours before serving or eat right away.

 

Leave a Reply

