Rock N Roll

We rocked the Seattle Rock N Roll Half Marathon! Above is a pic of us before and after the race. The rain quit right around 4:30 am and didn’t start up again until a few hours after the race. Talk about absolutely perfect.. I keep saying that the sun queens are on my side, now I actually believe that more.

If someone would have told me this time last year that I’d be running a half marathon I would have told them there crazy. I hadn’t ran more than a mile and I was so unhealthy and out of shape its not even funny, but here I am running a half marathon and am in the best shape of my life.

My finishing time was 2:00:08.. I didn’t really know what my goal was going into it, but I have to say I’m pretty impressed with my time! Now I’m looking forward to the next half and the full in November. I can only imagine what the it’s going to feel like to cross the finish line in New York.

The rest of my weekend was pretty boring.. A retirement party for my friends dad Saturday night, worked in the nursey at my church on Sunday morning with my best friend. Thankfully it was a quiet sunday with only one little boy or I would have been hurting. I spent a lot of time napping, stretching, icing and eating a lot of food this weekend. Running 13 miles really does take a lot of you. I’m still not feeling 100% today, but getting the itch to get back to my workout routine. I’m going to let my swollen knee rest one more day and I’ll be back at it tomorrow.

I’ve got a 4 mile run and a core class planned for the morning. Hoping the knee will have had enough rest by then. Also back to fruits and veggies tomorrow. It was nice being able to eat a little more carbs/proteins this weekend, but I’m missing all my veggies.

Happy Monday 🙂

2 thoughts on “Rock N Roll

  1. Congrats on the half marathon, and on your luck with Seattle weather! I’m training for a half some time in September/October and I’m afraid that it’ll be pouring rain those days!

    How about I message you the day before the race, and you show up so that the sun queens can grant me some appropriate weather? 😛

    Happy Monday to you, too! 😀

Leave a Reply

