Water, Thursday Night Cardio Sesh, Protein Muffins

After my post on Tuesday, I decided I needed a goal if I was going to increase my water intake. I decided 100oz of water a day would be my goal. 20oz in the AM before work out, 20oz with breakfast, 20oz before lunch, 20oz before dinner and 20oz before bed. Yesterday, I got all 100oz in before dinner and drank another few ounces before bed time. I didn’t drink any other liquids yesterday besides water and I can already tell it’s making a difference. Today, 140oz and it wasn’t even a challenge!

Thursday nights are becoming quite the work-out. I woke up this morning and it was raining so hard I just couldn’t find the motivation to go run in it so I decided to try my luck and wait til the evening to see what the weather was going to do. On my way home it was sunny and perfect condition for an outdoor run, but something told me to take it indoors. I haven’t had much time to do cardio in the gym with all my running and classes so I thought I’d take advantage of the hour I had before hot yoga. I did 10 mins on the stair stepper, 3 mile run on the treadmill (7.0 speed, 24 mins) and 1 mile on the elliptical incline at max 20 and resistance at 10. Since thursday AM is usually my core class, I decided to go through the washboard abs workout out I stole from youngmarriedchic. I could barely make it through the last crunches in the air my abs hurt so bad. Got done with perfect timing for hot yoga. There is something really rewarding about going to Hot Yoga after your exhausted and sweating from a good gym work out.

I’m now icing my legs and ready for my rest day tomorrow. I leave you with the Peanut Butter Protein Muffins recipe I made last night that are absolutely delicious! I also want to talk about the Bourbon-Agave Glazed ribs I made the boy last night, but I’ll save that for another post 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
MINI PEANUT BUTTER PROTEIN MUFFINS
Seriously, so excited about these. They are delicious, healthy, gluten-free, made without processed sugars, only 100 calories each, loaded with protein and fiber, super easy to make and did I mention super cute! I got the recipe from dashing dish, but changed it a little. I added almond milk instead of dairy and my advice for next time is to ground up the oats in a food processor before adding them to a blender. My blender didn’t want to mix the thick batter and I think it was a little due to the oats not being grounded.

INGREDIENTS
1/2 cup cottage cheese (non-fat) *next time going to try almond greek yoghurt (dairy free)
1/2 cup applesauce (organic, sugar free)
1/4 cup Justin’s Natural Honey Peanut Butter (microwave for 30 seconds)
1/2 cup egg whites (going to try and find a vegan sub next time)
1 3/4 cups bob’s gluten-free oats
1/4 cup vanilla protein powder (i use a gluten-free, vegan brand)
1/2 cup stevia baking blend
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 cup almond milk (or milk of your choice)
1. Preheat over to 350 and spray or use foil liners on 12 mini cup cake holders. I just dabbed a little vegetable oil on a paper towel and it worked perfectly.
2. combine all ingredients into a blender and mix
3. once mixed into a thick batter, scoop into muffin tin and bake for 20 mins, check to make sure top is starting to brown

One thought on “Water, Thursday Night Cardio Sesh, Protein Muffins

  1. You had me laughing as I read this blog !
    Make it a challenge & you can do anything you set your mind to do ! You’re quite a gal ! I love you !

Leave a Reply

