Big Backyard 5k

Image

I woke up on Sunday morning at 7am to a few missed calls from my dad and big surprise that he was going to join me for the Big Backyard 5k at Marymoor Park! If ya know my dad, this was a HUGE and an extremely nice surprise. It was the exact motivation I needed to get out of bed, make my super green juice (saturday’s recipe) and put my running shoes on.

My legs were extremely tired from Saturday’s running/hiking so my plan was to take it easy and just enjoy the run. Though, of course I’m always thinking about my best time and wanting to do better so I pushed myself as much as my tired legs could handle and ended up finishing in 23:49, my fastest 5k yet! I checked today and that placed me 12th out of 483 females and 70th overall. I like 12th, but of course now I have goal to do it in 21 mins 🙂

Here is a couple photos of my dad and hank running, really am so proud of both of them. Probably makes me a silly dog mom and daughter, but it was fun to find them after I finished and finish again with them snapping pictures!

ImageImage

For today’s juice I decided to try something new, I added protein and used the blender and it turned out really delicious and was perfect for my muscle recovery after bodypump this morning.

ImageOrange-Beet Power Juice
2 oranges
2 apples
2 pears
1 cucumber
2″ ginger
1/2 beet and beet greens
2 celery stalks
big handful of spinach/kale leaves
1 scoop protein powder (gluten-free)
add all ingredients to juicer except protein powder. Add ice cubs and protein powder to blender, mix in juice and mix until well blended and drink.
(this recipe made two 20oz glasses. One for breakfast and one for the afternoon.) 

Leave a Reply

